top of page

PREVENTION PROGRAMS

GettyImages-147065580.jpg

All ADAC prevention programs use evidence-backed strategies to reduce the impact of risk factors and increase protective factors shown to affect the likelihood that a youth will use tobacco, alcohol, or other drugs.

Examples of risk and protective factors include:

image2_edited.png

Source: National Institute on Drug Abuse

All prevention programs are available in all 12 ADAC-served counties: Angelina, Nacogdoches, San Augustine, Sabine, Shelby, Polk, Jasper, San Jacinto, Tyler, Houston, Newton, and Trinity.

Preventing Abuse by Reaching Today’s Youth – PARTY

LEO.jpg

ADAC’S Preventing Abuse by Reaching Today’s Youth, or PARTY program, is home to Leo the Drug Free Lion, who alongside a dedicated crew, works to keep kids away from alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs.

The PARTY department provides prevention education services to youth and adults through a variety of activities including appearances by Leo the Drug Free Lion, puppet shows, Red Ribbon rallies, and lessons on topics including building healthy friendships, making healthy choices and bullying.

Leo the Drug Free Lion and PARTY staff members work at community events and health fairs, retirement centers, day cares, head start programs, faith-based organizations, civic groups, housing authorities, school campuses and workplaces and businesses.

To schedule an appearance by Leo or a PARTY presentation, email party@adacdet.org. You can also call 936-631-8782 or 936-631-8765.

WHO WE ARE

Program Staff

Shelly Doss                                     936-631-8782  party@adacdet.org
Lindsey Bell
                                    936-631-8765  party@adacdet.org

Tatum Liles                                     936-631-8765  party@adacdet.org

Youth Prevention Universal - YPU

The Youth Prevention Universal Program offers the Too Good for Drugs program to 1st through 3rd grade students in 12 Deep East Texas counties.

Too Good for Drugs is an evidence-based program which helps participants develop protective factors like social and emotional competency, personal value, and healthy coping strategies. These factors and more help kids develop the mental tools to manage stress and recover from trauma.

HOW IT WORKS

Protective factors
targeted for increase:

  • Social and emotional competency skills

  • Personal efficacy

  • Exposure to school, community, and cultural norms that reject substance use or antisocial behaviors

  • Increased knowledge and perception of harm of the negative effects of substance use

  • Positive school connectedness

Risk factors targeted for decrease:

  • Poor social and emotional skills

  • Favorable attitudes toward substance use or antisocial behavior

  • Norms favorable toward substance use or antisocial behavior

  • Peer rewards for substance use or antisocial behaviors

  • Early initiation of substance use

  • Physical violence

  • Bullying behavior

WHO WE ARE

Program Manager

Shelly Tole-Barnes                       936-631-8781 stole@adacdet.org

Program Staff

Charlotte Stanaland                     936-631-8787   cstanaland@adacdet.org
Jakoya Grimes                              936-631-8770   jgrimes@adacdet.org

Emily Housley                               936-631-8788  ehousley@adacdet.org

Justice Irvine                                 936-631-8794  jirvine@adacdet.org

Timpsons Icecream social .jpg
ALL AGES
GRADES 1-3

Youth Prevention Selective – YPS

Youth Prevention Selective utilizes the Curriculum Based Support Group Program, (Kid’s & Youth Connection) Curriculum. Kid’s & Youth Connection is a research-based, interactive, multi-cultural curriculum. This curriculum was tested in diverse communities, in a wide variety of settings, and with a wide range of populations and is listed on the National Registry of Effective Prevention Programs.

HOW IT WORKS

Focusing on the development and practice of social, emotional, and coping skills they can use both now and in the future. The prevention specialist guides group participants through a series of discussions and activities designed to help them learn and apply the knowledge, attitudes, and skills needed to resist negative peer pressure, set, and achieve goals, cope with difficult situations, and make healthy life choices. The healthy life skills they learn, and practice have been proven to improve relationships, increase attachment to school, increase motivation to learn, and prevent alcohol and other drug abusing behaviors. Other services offered are Positive Activities and Prevention Presentations on the health consequences of underage drinking, marijuana, prescription drugs and tobacco and vaping.

WHO WE ARE

Program Manager

Melanie Patterson                         936-631-8780  mpatterson@adacdet.org

Program Staff

Delois Flakes                                   936-631-8778  gsowden@adacdet.org

Crystal Cryer                                   936-361-8776  ccryer@adacdet.org

Jimmy Evans                                    936-631-8791  jevans@adacdet.org

Hailey Holt                                       936-631-8780  hriddell@adacdet.org

GRADES 4-8

Youth Prevention Indicated – YPI

Youth Prevention Indicated programs build on the foundations laid by prevention programs for younger students, and help inform them about the social and health consequences of substance use.

YPI prevention specialists work closely with people between 14 and 19 years old at schools and other community organizations to reinforce prevention messages and provide tools for them to make better, healthier decisions.

HOW IT WORKS

Project TND addresses three main factors:
Motivation: attitudes, beliefs, expectations, and desires regarding drug use
Skills: effective communication, social self-control, and coping skills
Decision making: how to make decisions that lead to health-promoting behaviors.

At the completion of this program, students will be able to:
Stop or reduce the use of cigarettes, alcohol, marijuana, and hard drugs
Stop or reduce weapon carrying and victimization.
State accurate information about the consequences of drug use and abuse, including environmental, social, physiological, and emotional consequences.
Demonstrate behavioral and cognitive coping skills.
Make a personal commitment regarding drug use.

WHO WE ARE

Program Manager

Shelly Tole-Barnes                       936-631-8781 stole@adacdet.org

Program Staff

Veronica Smith                              936-631-8772  vsmith@adacdet.org
Sylvester Warren                          936-631-8773  swarren@adacdet.org

Jason Wilson                                  936-631-8775  jwilson@adacdet.org

Elwanda Limbrick                          936-631-8792 elimbrick@adacdet.org

Website update.jpg
GRADES 9-12

Community Coalition Programs (CCP)

(NAC CCP) - known as
NAC-CAN
Nacogdoches County

Polk CIA - known as
Polk County
Community in Action

The CCP Community Coalition Programs are community-based efforts in Nacogdoches County and Polk County to create community awareness regarding the health consequences of substance use and misuse specific to the state’s four prevention priorities of underage drinking, tobacco, marijuana, and prescription drugs.

Staff work with youth and adults in the community to create awareness on the dangers associated with use and abuse of alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, and prescription drugs.

The CCP is always looking for increased participation from the community, both youth and adults to serve on committees which focus on creating a safer environment for Nacogdoches and Polk Counties.

Director of Prevention

To learn more about this program or to join the coalition contact:
 

Kim Simmons                          936-631-8789                  ksimmons@adacdet.org

Program Manager
Melanie Patterson                  936-631-8780                  mpatterson@adacdet.org

Coalition Coordinator
Melissa Russell                       936-305-7628                 mrussell@adacdet.org

Community Liason
Kelsey Land                             936-569-7678                   kland@adacdet.org

Or visit us

1329 N. University Suite A1 

Nacogdoches, TX 75961

936-569-7678                       

COMMUNITY
bottom of page